The 2018 Scotiabank Photography Award reveals its shortlist

Fifty Minutes Grid, 2006, Twelve C-prints, tape, postage, ink, 30.5 x 44.5 cm each; 94 x 137.2 cm overall, Moyra Davey (CNW Group/Scotiabank)

TORONTO, March 21, 2018 /CNW/ –

The 2018 Scotiabank Photography Award, the largest peer-nominated and peer-reviewed celebration of excellence in Canadian contemporary photography, revealed the three artists on its shortlist this morning.

The 2018 shortlisted artists are:

  • Moyra Davey, Toronto, Ontario, and New York, New York;
  • Greg Staats, Toronto, Ontario; and,
  • Stephen Waddell, Vancouver, British Columbia.

As one of Canada’s largest and most prestigious lens-based art awards, the Scotiabank Photography Award aims to recognize the achievements of established mid-to-late-career photo-based artists, and the contributions they have made to art and photography in Canada.

“Scotiabank is proud to help to raise the international profile of Canadian artists through this Award,” said Barb Mason, Chief Human Resources Officer, Scotiabank. “The creative vision demonstrated by the three shortlisted artists reinforces our belief that the arts make Canadians richer, by inspiring us to pursue our passions and provide us with new perspectives that enrich our lives. We look forward to announcing the winner of this year’s Scotiabank Photography Award on May 8.”

The Scotiabank Photography Award Jury is composed of pre-eminent members of the Canadian arts community. The 2018 jurors include:

  • Edward Burtynsky, Jury Chair, Artist;
  • Candice Hopkins,  Writer/Curator;
  • Marie-Josée Jean, Artistic Director, VOX Centre de l’image contemporaine; and,
  • Mark Lewis, Artist.

“Congratulations to all three 2018 Scotiabank Photography Award shortlisted finalists,” said Edward Burtynsky, Chair of the Scotiabank Photography Award Jury. “These artists and their bodies of work are representative of the excellence and diversity of Canadian contemporary photography—powerful, fascinating and uniquely impactful.”

The winner of the 2018 Scotiabank Photography Award will receive a cash prize of $50,000, a solo Primary Exhibition at the Ryerson Image Centre during the 2019 Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival, and a book of their work published and distributed worldwide by art book publisher, Steidl of Germany. The remaining shortlisted artists will each receive $10,000.

The Scotiabank Photography Award was founded in 2010 with Burtynsky to celebrate the creative vision and accomplishments of some of Canada’s most talented photographers. It is Canada’s largest and most prestigious annual peer-nominated and peer-reviewed award that recognizes the achievements of established, mid-to-late-career artists and the outstanding contributions that they have made to Canadian contemporary art and photography.

The 2017 Scotiabank Photography Award Winner, Shelley Niro, will have a solo Primary Exhibition at the Ryerson Image Centre during the 2018 Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival, open to the public free of charge from April 27-August 5, 2018.

The winner of the 2018 Scotiabank Photography Award will be announced at a private gala at The Ryerson Image Centre in Toronto on May 8, 2018.

For more information about the Scotiabank Photography Award, please visit the website at

About Scotiabank
Scotiabank is Canada’s international bank and a leading financial services provider in North America, Latin America, the Caribbean and Central America, and Asia-Pacific. We are dedicated to helping our 24 million customers become better off through a broad range of advice, products and services, including personal and commercial banking, wealth management and private banking, corporate and investment banking, and capital markets. With a team of more than 89,000 employees and assets of over $923 billion (as at January 31, 2018), Scotiabank trades on the Toronto (TSX: BNS) and New York Exchanges (NYSE: BNS). For more information, please visit and follow us on Twitter @Scotiabank.

SOURCE Scotiabank

CONTACT: For media enquiries only: Shveta Hariharan, (416)-866-6696,

Moyra Davey—one of the three artists shortlisted for the 2018 Scotiabank Photography Award.(Photo Credit: Gene Pittman) (CNW Group/Scotiabank)


Greg Staats—one of the three artists shortlisted for the 2018 Scotiabank Photography Award. (Photo Credit: Donnie Ditchburn) (CNW Group/Scotiabank)


jacob ezra thomas, 1990, toned silver print, 11×14″, Greg Staats (CNW Group/Scotiabank)


Stephen Waddell—one of the three artists shortlisted for the 2018 Scotiabank Photography Award. (Photo Credit: Farah Nosh) (CNW Group/Scotiabank)


Man in White Suit, 2001, Archival Pigment Print 150 x 99 cm, Stephen Waddell (CNW Group/Scotiabank)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.