Ontario Celebrating Largest Expansion of Toronto’s Subway System in Nearly 40 Years

TTC Subway

Ontario is celebrating the largest expansion of Toronto’s subway system in nearly 40 years by making the TTC free on December 17, the first day of service for the new Line 1 extension into York Region.

Steven Del Duca, Minister of Transportation, along with John Tory, Mayor of Toronto and Josh Colle, TTC Chair, were at Sheppard West TTC station today to announce that on Sunday, December 17, people can ride the entire TTC network for free in celebration of the subway extension opening.

The new Line 1 extension is among the largest subway expansions in North America in recent decades, with six new stations and 8.6 kilometres of new track. Riders will get from the new subway terminus at Vaughan Metropolitan Centre to the Sheppard West station in about 14 minutes and to Union Station in 42 minutes. Students will also be able to take rapid transit to York University for the very first time.

Building better public transit for commuters and families is part of Ontario’s plan to create fairness and opportunity during this period of rapid economic change. The plan includes a higher minimum wage and better working conditions, free tuition for hundreds of thousands of students, easier access to affordable child care, and free prescription drugs for everyone under 25 through the biggest expansion of Medicare in a generation.


  • The Line 1 extension (or Toronto-York Spadina Subway Extension (TYSSE)) will add an estimated 36 million transit trips and eliminate 30 million car trips per year, helping to ease traffic congestion, improve air quality and fight climate change.
  • The project adds more than 2,800 parking spots at three commuter lots along the new extension.
  • The Line 1 extension is the largest subway expansion in the region in nearly 40 years, with a total cost of about $3.2 billion. The province provided $974 million to the project through the Move Ontario Trust. The City of Toronto is providing $904 million, the federal government up to $697 million and York Region $604 million.
  • The six new subway stations are Downsview Park, Finch West, York University, Pioneer Village, Highway 407 and Vaughan Metropolitan Centre.
  • The subway’s new terminus at Vaughan Metropolitan Centre is a major new transportation hub in York Region. It connects directly to the vivaNext rapidway on Highway 7 — part of an extensive rapid transit network of dedicated bus lanes that York Region Transit is building with up to $1.4 billion in funding from Ontario.
  • Ontario and the City of Toronto are cutting costs for commuters in the Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area. Starting on January 7, 2018, adult, senior, youth and student TTC riders will pay a TTC fare of just $1.50 when they use a PRESTO card to transfer to or from GO Transit or the Union Pearson Express.



“TTC users will be able to travel for free on Dec 17. We want everyone to be a part of history and experience the opening of the new Line 1 extension and see how beautiful and inspiring these new stations really are. The opening of the Toronto-York subway extension is the single greatest transit achievement for this region in my lifetime. Thousands of Vaughan residents and York University students now have a world-class rapid transit option to get them where they need to go faster and more efficiently.”
 — Steven Del Duca, Minister of Transportation

“What a great way for the Toronto region to celebrate this milestone. I encourage everyone to take the TTC tomorrow to see the city and to come up to this impressive six-stop extension. We want to celebrate this rapid transit expansion. I want to thank Minister Del Duca and Premier Wynne for agreeing to fully support the cost of these free rides. “
 — John Tory, Mayor of Toronto

“We are proud to offer free transit on the TTC system for opening day, which will allow local residents, students, and our loyal TTC customers to experience the new state-of-the-art subway extension and visit our six new incredible stations. I want to thank the Province of Ontario for the strong leadership, partnership and commitment to transit in the Greater Toronto Area.”
 — Josh Colle, Chair of the TTC

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.