Canada’s Newest Astronauts Touch Down at the Canadian Space Agency

Joshua Kutryk (CNW Group/Canadian Space Agency)
Jenni Sidey (CNW Group/Canadian Space Agency)

July 4, 2017 – Longueuil, Quebec

Canada’s two newest astronauts, Jenni Sidey of Calgary and Joshua Kutryk of Fort Saskatchewan, touched down at the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) before blasting off on two years of training at NASA’s Johnson Space Center.

Today, the Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development, welcomed the new astronauts at the CSA‘s headquarters.

He was joined by astronaut Jeremy Hansen, who moderated a discussion with the new recruits and with children in the audience. The two newest astronauts also took questions from Canadians across the country during a Facebook Live event.

The nation’s newest astronauts are being named as space agencies around the world identify options for future missions that go beyond the International Space Station.

These new recruits will be part of the next generation of space explorers that pushes the limits of science and technology while advancing public understanding of our universe. In the process, they will inspire young Canadians to pursue careers in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Canada’s space program is part of the Government of Canada’s investments in science and technology under the Innovation and Skills Plan, a multi-year strategy to create well-paying jobs for the middle class and those working hard to join it.



“Canada’s participation in space is important for scientific discovery and innovation. The technologies that are designed for space today can one day be used to improve the lives of all Canadians. These innovations also have the potential to create new jobs and opportunities for Canadians. Our country’s newest astronauts will play a key role in advancing space technologies while pushing the frontiers of scientific knowledge. That’s how Canada’s space program drives innovation for a better Canada.”

– The Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development

Quick Facts

  • Jenni Sidey and Joshua Kutryk become Canada’s 13th and 14th astronauts.
  • Canada’s newest astronauts could eventually participate in missions to the International Space Station and other missions into deep space. They could also travel on commercial spacecraft.
  • Canada’s fourth astronaut recruitment campaign was launched in June 2016. The search attracted 3,772 applicants from a variety of backgrounds in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.
  • In Budget 2016, the Government of Canada invested $379M over eight years to extend Canada’s participation in the International Space Station until 2024.
  • In 2018, David Saint-Jacques will become the next Canadian astronaut to take part in a long-duration mission aboard the Space Station.

Associated Links

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.